A little help getting started with rFactor2

Andrew NagyAndrew Nagy Member
edited January 2021 in rFactor

Hello,

For those who have followed my posts on the General Discussions forum, I am VERY new to the sim world, and with a ton of help from this forum, I'm finally through all the steps of downloading the correct version of firmware, making sure I have the latest drivers for my components, calibrating the DD1 motor driver and performing the wheel center and manual pedal calibrations. So I'm ready to download my chosen game, which is rFactor2, because the track I'm going to physically race on in an arrive-and-drive series in Radical SR1's later this year (Atlanta Motorsports Park) is only available on rFactor2. So my immediate goal with my sim is not online racing, but driver training, starting with familiarizing myself with Atlanta Motorsports Park

So I've set the tuning parameters to the recommended values in the first thread of this forum, and am ready to download rFactor2 and start its setup procedure. But of course, right off the bat, I have several questions:

1. Which version of rFactor2 do I need to download? I ask because there's a free version, and one that costs $31.99. I have no problem whatsoever paying for it, but I'm just wondering what the differences are between the versions.
  2. What the heck is this Steam thing? Do I have to download it in order to start using rFctor2?
  3. Could someone please provide me a link to a very beginner-oriented (I've never even played a video game in my entire life, so I'm as green as it's humanly possible to be with this stuff) video that walks you through all the steps of setting up the game, selecting the track and the car, the field of view for the monitors, etc. , how exactly to start driving on the track, etc.