Shifter Problem after 1 year of minimal use

I've barely used my SQ 1.5 shifter up until the last few weeks. I used it as a novelty more than anything. But, recently I moved to iRacing where it has became much more of a staple diet.

Firstly, I seriously cut my pinkie shifting from 2nd into 4th. The hole at the bottom of the shaft is not de-burred (still isn't as I wanted to leave it evident should Fanatec themselves want to dispute this fact). It's very poorly finished IMO (I'm an engineer) considering that it's going to be handled.

Regardless of the above, I'm a big boy...... a plaster and some alcohol seen me OK for now....... there are often times when I'm shifting from 3rd into 4th where the shifter will see 2nd gear. This doesn't happen often, maybe once in every 20 or 30 shifts.... but it happens often enough to kill my race..... in a subscription service I'm paying for.

Now, this is where I'm a little annoyed. I've read countless stories about this happening with other users.. yet Fanatec dispute there is an issue? There is clearly an issue with this unit design in general. The hall sensor is a magnificent idea but.... if you don't ground the circuit correctly it's going to have issues. I've seen that there is a solution using electrical tape. Is this now sancioned by Fanatec or am I seriously going to be requested to send in my unit to be "repaired"? The reason I ask this is I have had this unit for 13 months. Granted I've only used it for 1 but by the letter of the law I'm shafted by warranty.